Our Montessori inspired activity shelf (2.5 and 4.5 year olds)

I thought it was time I share the children’s updated activity shelf.  I try to rotate the activities every fortnight, but realistically it’s more every month.  Now the children are old enough, I ask them what jobs they would like to remain on the shelf, and what they would like to add.  I also observe what they bring home from kinder (both Grace and Xavier go to a Montessori kindergarten so I try to compliment the activities they do there, not replace them) so I know what they currently are interested in.

IMG_3178

Here are the shelves in more detail:

Grace's shelfXavier's shelf

I’m always looking for more ideas so I follow some really great accounts on Instagram, and use use Pintrest for other ideas (you can follow me here @littlebluelivin for all the ideas I have pinned).

Find out what was on their shelves a few months ago here

2 thoughts on “Our Montessori inspired activity shelf (2.5 and 4.5 year olds)

  1. This is such a nice idea! I have all my daughter’s toys, books and activity in one shelf and all out. And everything leaves the shelf all at once, hello clutter. I am definitely trying this technique. Thaks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

