My capsule wardrobe – Autumn/Fall

IMG_7599

A few years ago, I stumbled across Unfancy, a blog about capsule wardrobes.  I immediately fell in love with the minimalist idea of only having staples in your closet.  Essentially, Caroline pointed out that most people only wear a fraction of what lives in their wardrobes and suggested that every season, we only have 37 items in rotation.  This, of course, does not include under garments, sports gear or jewellery and socks, but does include shoes and everything else you would wear.  Caroline does a better job of explaining what it entails here.

It took me a while to pluck up the courage to cull what I have.  I separated my clothes in three piles – what to keep, what to sell and what to donate to charity.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have some items under my bed that I just can’t get rid of yet, but my wardrobe and chest of drawers only contain what I wear for three months.  And can I tell you – it is so liberating!  I know exactly what I need for the next season, I know not to buy my fourth striped dress because I already have three back home, and I feel like I’m wearing outfits I actually like.

Below I’ve shared what I have in my ‘mum-iform’ wardrobe, as Caroline suggests if you work in a Corporate environment,  you will need a separate wardrobe for that.  I think it’s because I have have two wardrobes, I have less than 30 items in each.

So here is what I have for my Autumn/Fall closet (I have missed my black cap, but oh well… )

Screen shot 2016-04-09 at 10.02.46 PMScreen shot 2016-04-09 at 8.54.06 PMScreen shot 2016-04-09 at 9.42.14 PMScreen shot 2016-04-09 at 9.23.24 PMScreen shot 2016-04-09 at 9.27.02 PM

 Screen shot 2016-04-26 at 8.40.02 PMScreen shot 2016-04-26 at 8.38.33 PMScreen shot 2016-04-26 at 8.28.25 PMScreen shot 2016-04-26 at 8.23.17 PM

Yes, yes.  I’m not a ‘colour’ wearer.

I love having less clutter in our room.  I love how I don’t buy as much for myself anymore because I know exactly what I have and need.  But most of all, I love having a selection of items I genuinely want to wear each day, which makes me save time and makes me happy.  It’s the simple things in life!

One thought on “My capsule wardrobe – Autumn/Fall

Leave a Reply

